

Contact: Debrah Mitchell Mobile: 501-425-8974

Email: info@ARdemocraticblackcaucus.org

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

ARKANSAS DEMOCRATIC BLACK CAUCUS ANNOUNCES 2021 KING KENNEDY AWARDS HONOREES

(LITTLE ROCK) – In celebration of Black History Month, the Arkansas Democratic Black Caucus will honor nine Arkansans who have positively impacted the state at the 16th Annual King Kennedy Awards. This event is scheduled for **Saturday, February 27, 2021** at 6:00 p.m. via the Arkansas Democratic Black Caucus Facebook page and YouTube Channel.

This year's honorees were officially revealed in an announcement on the Broadway Joe Morning show on Power 92:

Irma Hunter Brown Women's Leadership Award

Dr. Danyell Crutchfield Cummings, Little Rock Director of Assessment & Accountability with the Little Rock School District

Thomas E. Patterson Education Award

Dr. Jeremy S. Owoh, Little Rock Deputy Superintendent of Academics and School Leadership Little Rock School District

Annie Abrams Community Service Award

Ms. Maria Bunting Smedley, Esq., Little Rock Vice President of Human Resources and Corporate Strategy at Arkansas Electric Cooperative Corporation

Jerry Jewell Government Leadership Award

Mr. Theodis "Ted" Davis, Pine Bluff Jefferson County Election Commission

Calvin King Economic Development Award

Mayor Cedric E. Williams, Forrest City and Representative Reginald Murdock, Marianna Mayor of Forrest City and Arkansas State House of Representatives

President's Award

Ms. Kymara Seals, Pine Bluff Community Activist and Organizer Dr. Asad Khan, MD, Jonesboro Craighead County Committee Chair

Mr. Markeith Cook, El Dorado Community Advocate and Campaign Strategist

The King Kennedy Awards was established in 2005 to honor and recognize outstanding individuals who have made significant contributions to their communities and our great state. A portion of the proceeds will go to provide two scholarships to deserving students at the four Arkansas HBCUs - including Arkansas Baptist College, Philander Smith College, Shorter College, and the University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff.

Scholarship Recipients

Ms. Gabrielle Alexis Brumfield Philander Smith College

Ms. Chasity Garrett UAPB

About the Arkansas Democratic Black Caucus

The Arkansas Democratic Black Caucus (ADBC) was established in 1982 as an extension of the Democratic Party of Arkansas. It provides a vehicle within the Democratic Party of Arkansas to address the concerns of African-Americans. The objective of this organization is to achieve proportionate representation of African-American Democratic public officials, elected or appointed in Arkansas; foster election of and monitor the performance of all elected officials; and disseminate information to the African-American community through effective communication. Debrah Mitchell of North Little Rock serves as president.

###